Tuesday, January 4, 2011

The Hunger Games Series

I don't think I've written yet about the Suzanne Collins series, The Hunger Games, despite the fact that I read them a few months ago.  I don't think I even had a chance to put them in my blog sidebar because I tore through them so fast.  Even though they're Young Adult, I really liked the three-book series.  They're not quite on par with Harry Potter, but they're far better than the Twilight Series (which I also tore through with embarrassing speed).

The books take place in the future when the country is divided up into 12 districts.  To reinforce the strength of the Capitol, each year two teens are chosen from each district to compete in the Hunger Games where they compete by killing each other.  The last one alive wins.  A bit grim for a Young Adult series, yes, but the books were well done and managed to completely suck me in.  And as my friend Erinn noted, the protagonist, Katniss, is the anti-Bella--she's confident, capable, and very independent--a really refreshing change.

I'd recommend the books for adult readers who want a bit of an escape and also to teens who want something interesting with a really great protagonist.

The Hunger Games (Book 1)

Catching Fire (Book 2)

Mockingjay (Book 3)


Laura Elizabeth Fredlund said...

I love this trilogy! I just finished reading the 3rd. I'm so sad it's over

I Have To Have It said...

I know! I'm bummed they're over, but I heat they're making a movie series out of the books. Not sure what to think about that, other than they better be better than the Twilight movies! (Although I do kinda love those.)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...